Paleo Scrambled Eggs with Ham and Scallions

Today is Day 1 of my Paleo challenge!! I have decided to try and have a Paleo diet at least during the week from now on. Eventually I will try and continue it on weekends. For anyone who is unfamiliar with the Paleo lifestyle it is often called “The Caveman Diet”. Without going to far into it, it basically is a lifestyle of eating no: grains, dairy, legumes, potatoes, sugar, alcohol, and “fake” foods.
But you can eat as much meat, veggies, and fruits as you like!
Today for my first paleo meal I made delicious scrambled eggs and I am still full 4 hours later!!
Tell me what you think of the Paleo diet.

Ingredients:
2 eggs
1 teaspoon coconut oil
2 slices deli ham, cut up
2 scallions, diced
Sea salt
Black pepper

Directions:
Over medium-low heat add coconut oil to your pan.
Let it get hot and add your ham and scallions.
Cook for about 2 minutes then crack two eggs into your pan.
Cook for about 1 minute and then with a rubber spatula, scramble the eggs.
Cook until done, turn off heat and add salt and pepper and mix.
Transfer to a plate and enjoy!
I don’t even miss the butter that I used to cook my eggs with, coconut oil is delicious!

20120507-131258.jpg

2 thoughts on “Paleo Scrambled Eggs with Ham and Scallions

  1. Welcome to trying out the paleo diet! I’m doing it too but only about 80% though (here’s my post on why: http://mindsome.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/food-love/). Was going to mention though that some hams can be pretty non-paleo because sometimes they add a bunch of stuff in there (and it’s loaded with salt), but it’s really up to you how you feel about that. I know I cut down on the ham, but I still eat it about once a week or so. Good luck!

    • Tina-
      Thanks for taking the time to comment! I’m with you, planning on doing about 80%
      I just completed my first day and it wasn’t as hard as I thought! Went out to dinner though an it was very hard not to get a bacon cheeseburger!!!! Lol
      I got some grilled chicken with tomato and felt a lot better afterwards than I normal doing after going out to eat! Going to check out the website you left me now.
      Thanks again,
      -Alexa

Leave a Reply

