Italian Fruit Pizza

This recipe is similar to my recipe for Dessert Pizza, but it is made with a sugary crescent roll crust instead of sugar cookie dough, and mascarpone cheese instead of cream cheese! Top it with your favorite fruits and some chocolate and you have an easy summer dessert.

Ingredients:
2-8oz. cans crescent rolls
2-8oz. containers of Marscarpone cheese
1 lemon
Confectioners Sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
Sliced fruit
Dark chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425.
Spray a pizza pan with cooking spray.
Spread out crescent rolls to form the look of pizza dough all around the pan and slightly up the edges.
Make sure all the seams connect.
Slice off part of a lemon and rub the peel over the dough.
Sprinkle 3 tablespoons of confectioners sugar onto dough.
Bake at 425 for 8 minutes.
Remove and let cool completely.
With a handheld mixer, beat the Marscarpone cheese, 1/4 cup confectioners sugar, cinnamon and vanilla.
Once crust is completely cool, spread mixture onto dough and add sliced fruit.
Melt dark chocolate chips in the microwave and splatter over fruit with a spatula.
Keep in fridge until ready to serve!

20120719-111847.jpg

20120719-111857.jpg

8 thoughts on “Italian Fruit Pizza

      • Thanks for the link!

        I think it looks pretty – especially the second picture. 🙂

        Have you ever made fruit pizza with a slightly less sweet crust? I’m just wondering because cookie crust seems sooo overpoweringly sweet. BUT, is that really the only way fruit pizza “works?”

        I’ve never made it.

      • Bonnie, I definitely like it with the cookie crust, but on the Italian one I used crescent rolls which were not sweet but then added the sweet “sauce” or frosting to the top. In my opinion the crust being sweet is what I’d want for a fruit pizza but I’m sure you could try a less sweet crust!

      • ok. 🙂

        It seems like *most* of the fruit pizza recipes I’ve seen have a sugar cookie crust or something similar.

        I’m not sure what I’ll do… I’ll see what my husband thinks sounds good first.

        Thanks for the tips! 🙂

Leave a Reply

