Coconut Flour Paleo Bread

I think one of the biggest struggles of the Paleo diet (for myself at least) is no bread. Ok just kidding its definitely no sugar, but bread comes in a close second! This is an extremely easy recipe that uses a small list of ingredients to make a paleo bread. To me it’s more of a sweet bread…something for breakfast with almond butter or with jam. I wouldn’t necessarily use it for sandwiches because it is very dense, but if you cut the pieces thin enough you definitely could!
Also, since there are very few ingredients in this recipe you could add different things to it such as: herbs for a savory bread, or fruit, vanilla extract, or cinnamon and nutmeg for a sweet bread.

I found this recipe on: http://www.nourishingdays.com

Ingredients:
3/4 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup virgin coconut oil, melted
6 eggs
1/2 tsp. sea salt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350.
Grease a loaf pan with coconut oil.
Combine eggs and coconut oil in a bowl.
Add salt and coconut flour and combine with egg mixture.
Mixture will be a thick paste.
Push it down into the loaf pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.

20120724-173649.jpg

20120724-173700.jpg

20120724-173710.jpg

20120724-173718.jpg

11 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Paleo Bread

  1. It looks great! I have a question though, I’m not a 100% strict paleo eater, but I do enjoy eating paleo foods. Currently I have coconut flour in the pantry. However, I don’t have any coconut oil! I would like to use olive oil instead, so do you know if there’s any specific conversion rates between olive oil and coconut oil?

    Thanks!
    -Tina from http://mindsome.wordpress.com

    • Hi Tina!
      I am not a 100% paleo eater either.
      Unfortunately olive oil is not a good substitute for coconut oil it will not work!! Sorry 😦
      But, coconut oil is a great staple in any pantry and you can find it for very cheap at places like Walmart or Traders Joes and there are many other uses for it! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m sorry, I forgot we are talking about baking bread here! Not olive oil…. how about butter? I’ve made some paleo cookies using butter, and it was pretty great. Do you know of a good conversion rate between butter and coconut oil?

    Thanks again!
    -Tina from http://mindsome.wordpress.com

    • Tina,
      Butter should work! Make sure you melt it and measure out 1/2 cup before you use it. I have never tried with butter so I am curious to see how it works. Please let me know if you try it out πŸ™‚
      Also, of you want your bread to be sweeter, add 1/4 cup of honey.
      My bread is not sweet on its own, but very tasty when toasted with butter and jam πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Paleo Challenge | lexbake

  4. Pingback: Easy Paleo Meal Plans

  5. Pingback: Meatloaf Paleo Recipe

  6. Pingback: Coconut Flour Bread | Joy Rises

Leave a Reply

