Tropical Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Today is my Dad’s birthday.
Happy Birthday Dad!!!!

20130128-134433.jpg

One of his favorite desserts is carrot cake, so I decided to make him carrot cake cupcakes! We went out to dinner yesterday so I gave him them then, and they were beautiful, and delicious!!

I adapted this recipe from: http://www.momontimeout.com

Ingredients:
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
1 cup of sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp. baking powder
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 cup grated carrots
1/2 cup sweetened, shredded coconut
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup Dole crushed pineapple in 100% juice

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350.
Line 18 cupcake wells with liners.
Lightly spray each liner with cooking spray (my cupcakes stuck a little).
Combine applesauce-egg.
Add in baking powder-cinnamon and combine.
Add in grated carrots-pineapple and mix together until combined.
Evenly fill 18 cupcake wells with batter and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick in the center comes out clean.
Once cooled, I frosted with (I cheated) store-bough cream cheese frosting, but you can make homemade by following my recipe here: !

I also topped the cupcakes with mini candy “carrots” that I bought at my local cake and candy store: Ladybug Cake and Candy Supply

I topped the remaining cupcakes (since I only bought 12 candy carrots) with crushed walnuts and drizzled chocolate.

20130128-135955.jpg

20130128-135947.jpg

20130128-135933.jpg

2 thoughts on “Tropical Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

